Happy Birthday You Stupid F*ck

I swear that I must have had one of the worst weeks I have had in a long time. I guess I should have seen it coming, my birthday is this Saturday and it IS April. Oh? You don't know about the month of April?

Well it all starts with a day dedicated to fools. Who in the world came up with an unofficial holiday to celebrate the total ownage of your friends, family and just about anyone stupid enough to try and pick up a farking quarter off of the floor that's been treated with 2 tons of Elmers? With a month like that, you have to expect things to go wrong.
Check this out:

Chernobyl
Sultana
1906 Quake
1991 F5 (I lived through that one)

the list goes on and on, but I don't want to bore you. I am trying to get readers here, not drive them away. If you are really interested just do a Google search sometime, you'll see what I'm talking about.

Anyway, back to my week.
It started out much like any other week, knee deep in fixing broken infantry art, reading about how people hate the way I have animated a particular nut on one particular section on one particular weapon, etc. etc. After 7 years I am used to all that, but what I'm not used to is beating my farking head against a brick wall. Debates with the guy in charge of making my art work in the game over trivial things, me trying to remember how Thunder used to do it, him not knowing much about how Thunder used to do it. It all gets very…tiresome….after a time.
Granny is another pet-peeve of mine. Oh, don't get me wrong. It's a powerful tool, with lots of features, making animation an easier task in regards to game data, but FARK! Can't they hire an artist to help write the flippin' documentation for the frickin' thing? I spent half a day trying to figure out if I needed to have animation compression turned on or off, or somewhere in-between in able to get the animations to correctly play in the game. IN the immortal words of Napolean Dynamite; "GAAAAWWWWDD!"

The week continued with more debate, more hair pulling, more profanity, and then Friday rolls around. I thought I had made a good dent in the "known issues" list that Gophur likes to throw around so much and much to my dismay, he hiots me with the "upated" list. Time to go home.

I'll spend my birthday trying to forget about my bad week. I think I'll watch my birthday present; season 1 of Battlestar Galactica. Now where the f*ck is my remote?!

Oh yeah

~ by roca on April 21, 2006.

One Response to “Happy Birthday You Stupid F*ck”

  1. Sorry mate. 😦

    There’ll probably be even more on Monday, I plan to spend the weekend plugging away through that complete animation checklist.

Leave a Reply

 
