More Trek Goodness!

Wow! A friend of mine was good enough to send me a link to a story about the next installment in the Star Trek franchise.

It seems Paramount is going to go ahead with number 11. A story based on young Kirk and Spocks life, not too long after the academy days. It has no title yet, but will be directed by J.J. Abrams…the guy who directed "Mission Impossible III". Look for it around 2008.

I'm just wondering how they are going to pull it off. I doubt Mr. Shatner or Mr. Nimoy can reprise their roles as they are probably about 40 years too old to play fresh faced Lts.
Who knows, maybe he will sign Cruise on to play Kirk, I mean, the guy is already flying in outer space somewhere anyway.

Personally, I am looking forward to another Trek. It's one of my favorite series (TNG), and I am kind of missing it since that really bad one (Enterprise) got cut. Let's face it; a bad Trek is better then no Trek at all.

Dax 

~ by roca on April 21, 2006.

3 Responses to “More Trek Goodness!”

  1. Cool. I do like the original characters quite a bit. Their chemistry as characters worked very well…it should be enjoyable to see them before that chemistry developed. Cast speculation is one of my favorite pasttimes, but I swear this casting should be pretty difficult. After 5 min I’ve come up with: Young Shatner – Peter Saarsgard (although his chin and voice are definitely different), Young Nimoy – Barry Pepper (would it be Spock with a southern accent? lol).

    Anyway, I’m sure there are better choices, but that was just the result of my 5 min brainstorm.

  2. I really started to like Enterprise when it got cancelled.
    Their last season was definitely their best one and at least we got some closure at the very end. Most times, they’ll get a one week notice that the shows been cancelled and they can’t do anything to commerate the ending.

  3. Hehe Barry Pepper. Maybe.
    Yeah I am not sure who I would pick but I do like Christian Bale, although I am not so sure he would make a good Kirk. Maybe Spock though.

    Enterprise was exciting when it first came out but I soon lost interest. I think it was the whining translator girl.

Leave a Reply

 
