I Missed the Hub-bub.

Sunday was a rare day in my household.  My wife actually had the day off, so we decided to make a day of it together.
We grabbed an early dinner at La Hacienda restaurant, then went to see The Da Vinci Code.

I have to tell you that I didn't see what all of the hate was based on, concerning this movie. At this point, I will tell you that I haven't read the book, so my comments just concern the movie.
In no part of the movie did I see any Christian or Catholic bashing going on.  It did portray some "bad" elements within those two groups, but don't you have things like that in everything?   I thought Tom Hanks did a fine job in the movie, and he didn't lay an egg like some folks have claimed.  Ian McKellen was good as always and I could have sworn I have seen Audrey Tautou in something else before.  EDIT: Ahha I have  Dirty Pretty Things

All in all, it was very entertaining, and my wife even enjoyed it, which is saying a lot since she is more into movies like My Best Friend's Wedding , or Monster In-Law.

 

~ by roca on May 22, 2006.

10 Responses to “I Missed the Hub-bub.”

  1. I loved Dirty Pretty Things, as well as In America (which came out at the same time…though it was more melodrama). I got suckered into the who “Da Vinci Code Weekend” on the History Channel and learned a few things. 1) There is an Opus Dei and while they do make themselves suffer for God (mainly through fasting or wearing something uncomfortable), they don’t go around killing people for fun and profit. 2) They did some DNA testing on a Merovingian queen and found no sequence of Middle Eastern DNA. 3) The Priory of Psion was made up by some dude in France who confessed it was all just a hoax.

    It was a good bunch of shows. I haven’t seen the movie yet (I wonder if it’s even showing here in Colorado Springs…lol) but I’m looking forward to it. I can see the Christians being upset about the portrayal of Opus Dei in the movie, but if there problem is sacrilidge then they should consider me, personally, a much bigger offender than some movie. Where are MY picketers?

  2. Oh, and I would seriously violate miss Audrey Tautou.

  3. Hmm…. I also plan on seeing The Da Vinci Code in the next few days with my GF, most probably on Wednesday, can’t wait to see what all the fuss is about…there has been more talk about this movie than all the other movies in the last 12 months together…at least here in Austria/Germany, every god damn TV channel keeps showing different shows/spots and programs about this movie since several weeks…

    About the girl in the movie, she does have a special French touch don’t you think that makes her especially hot πŸ˜‰

  4. Well if you guys didn’t know, that is a picture of her. πŸ™‚

    Anyway, the movie portrays one Bishop in Opus Dei that is a little freakie….with a secret council that talk about Zion….and his subserviant monk that believes in self-mutilation as his sacrifice for God. It never says that they are all like that.

    Its worth going to see I would say. Good fun.

  5. Eh? You listed Dirty Pretty Things, but not Amelie? I would think the latter is her source of recognition on this side of the Atlantic.

  6. Amelie was an exceedingly well scripted/directed/acted movie. One of the best light entertainments/good-mood movies of recent decades.

    I’m glad to see Tautou working in something that will get her more visibility for big-time parts. She’s a very good actress.

  7. Well I did say “what I saw her in”….I’ve never seen Amelie. Are you saying I should?

  8. Amelie is worth a rent.

  9. Hell, I assumed everyone did. πŸ™‚ It’s definitely worth it.

  10. OK I watched Da Vinci Code yesterday and think it is pretty good, maybe a little bit too long bit I still liked it.

Leave a Reply

 
