HL2 and the Gamepad

You would think that more game engines would make the implementation of gamepad use an easier endeavor.
Messing with Half Life 2’s mod tools, I haven’t been able to find a simple way to implement a gamepad.   Maybe it’s reserved to actual source code, but unfortunately, I don’t have a spare $500k to find out.

However, I do like the toolset with HL2.  I recently tried UnrealEd and didn’t care for it as much.  Maybe if I had spent more time with it I could have discovered the joys of subtraction…but I found myself going back to the Hammer.

~ by roca on September 15, 2006.

5 Responses to “HL2 and the Gamepad”

  1. I dunno, I like both. They both have their advantages. UnrealEd, however, is LIGHTYEARS easier to use then Hammer. You can get models, props, textures in with a couple of clicks instead of the overly complex system Valve uses for materials and models. I have extensive knowledge of both, and they both have their upsides and down. I definately prefer Source / hammer for mapping (even though its SO easy to break it, especially with big maps), but for pure ease of use and lack of f-upability, UnrealEd is great.

  2. Like I said, I don’t have that much experience with UnrealEd so that might be one of the reasons I am not to enthusiastic about it.
    Maybe I will hit you up for some pointers. 🙂

  3. First pointer is get the 3D Buzz video tutorials for it 😉 If you have the Special Edition of Unreal2k4 (or whatever the DVD version is) they’re included.

    When Badge of Blood (which ofcourse you’ve played a limited hand in :P) switched to Unreal I was in the same boat, I was like “Subtraction? What the fuck?”

    Like I said, I still definately prefer Hammer for mapping (it just feels right to me), but UnrealEd is good at mapping and better then Source at everything related to it. Props play a HUGE part in modern maps, and ease of getting models and textures into the engine is a big deal to me. I remember I was the only person who could compile anything for Source for atleast a few months because no one could figure out how to get any textures or props in, heh.

  4. Hey Snoop…send me your email, I need to ask you a couple of questions.

  5. Is your Toto@playnet e-mail still armed and operational? Otherwise, drop me an e-mail at snooper2001@aol.com

Leave a Reply

 
